What is the Care Certificate?

The Care Certificate is an identified set of standards that health and social care workers adhere to in their daily working life. Designed with the non-regulated workforce1 in mind, the Care Certificate gives everyone the confidence that these workers have the same introductory skills, knowledge and behaviours to provide compassionate, safe and high quality care and support.

Regulated staff (e.g. Doctors, Nurses, Social Workers, Occupational Therapists) gain similar skills and knowledge within their professional training so they do not need to also achieve the Care Certificate.

The Care Certificate applies across health and social care; links to competences (National Occupational Standards) and units in qualifications; covers what is required to be caring; will equip workers with the fundamental skill they need to provide quality care; and gives them a basis from which they can further develop your knowledge and skills as their career progresses.

We can deliver this in your place work as an entire course covering all 15 standards over a set number of learning hours  or you can choose the standards you need – just ask us

What are the standards?

The 15 standards in the Care Certificate are:

  1. Understand your role
  2. Your personal development
  3. Duty of care
  4. Equality and diversity
  5. Work in a person centred way
  6. Communication
  7. Privacy and Dignity
  8. Fluids and Nutrition
  9. Awareness of mental health, learning disability, and dementia
  10. Safeguarding adults
  11. Safeguarding children
  12. Basic Life support
  13. Health and Safety
  14. Handling Information/data protection
  15. Infection control and Prevention